Tracks Added – February 2014


So a real bumper crop this month, although somewhat skewed by De La Soul releasing their back catalogue for free for 24 hours.

So this months additions are:

  • King King – Take My Hand
  • Samantha Crain – Kid Face (SoS)
  • LSO – Bruckner – Symphony No 9 (SoS)
  • De La Soul – AOI: Bionix
  • De La Soul – Art Official Intelligence: Mosaic Thump
  • De La Soul – Stakes Is High
  • De La Soul – Buhloone Mindstate
  • De La Soul – De La Soul Is Dead
  • De La Soul – 3 Feet High And Rising
  • Neil Finn – Dizzy Heights
  • Jesca Hoop – Undress
  • Mike + The Mechanics – Living Years (Deluxe Edition)

So quite an eclectic mix this month spanning classical to hip-hop.

The De La Soul collection is an interesting one as it was given away in return for your email address. They have struggled with getting their music onto the major download sites due to rights issues so, I imagine, are not getting the air time they might hope. Giving the music away brought them plenty of coverage and, crucially, thousands of email addresses that they can now market to.

Neil Finn is one of my favourite artists and I have been eagerly awaiting this latest release for some time. It is, how can I put this, a challenging listen. While the title track is the usual Finn affair others, such as Divebomber, are going to take quite a few listens to appreciate I suspect. Need to put the hours in though as we are seeing him play in May.

The Jesca Hoop release is an interesting one as it has come via the crowdfunding site Pledge Music. This is the second time that I have pledged this way and it is a good way of some less popular musicians being able to fund a release.

Those above marked (SoS) are from a subscription service called Society of Sound which is curated by Real World Records, Peter Gabriel and the LSO. 


All my music is held in a web-based music streamer called Subsonic, a roll-your-own Spotify if you like. This provides statistics on number of tracks and size of collection, as you can see below.

1,209 artists
2,565 albums
23,066 songs
225.60 GB
1,847 hours

One Reply to “Tracks Added – February 2014”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.