Tracks Added – May 2014


Right, so this month is somewhat skewed by an offer at the local Oxfam shop where they were doing a “one cd for £1.99 or ten for £10” deal and once I had found three I wanted it seemed daft not to go through with the ten, hence the extended list.

This months additions are:

  • Trevor Rabin – 90124
  • Electronic – Electronic
  • Bronski Beat – The Singles Collection
  • Ben Folds Five – The Unauthorized Biography
  • Space – Suburban Rock ‘N’ Roll
  • Semisonic – Feeling Strangely Fine
  • John Squire – Time Changes Everything
  • Ocean Colour Scene – Songs For The Front Row
  • Mogwai – No Education = No Future (Fuck The Curfew) EP
  • Prince – The Gold Experience
  • Morrissey – You Are The Quarry
  • LSO – Berlioz Te Deum (SoS)
  • Edwyn Collins – Studio Live Session Lichtenstein (SoS)
  • OK Go – Upside Out
  • Boo Hewerdine – 59 Yds
  • Boo Hewerdine – God Bless The Pretty Things & The Toy Box EPs [Deluxe Edition]
  • Hafdís Huld – Home
  • Tim Carleton & Darrick Deel – The Arcata Sessions
  • Elbow – The Take Off and Landing of Everything
  • Midlake – The Trials of Van Occupanther
  • Midlake – Antiphon

So there are some odd ones this month. The one that stands out in particular is Tim Carleton & Darrick Deel and that is because while you may not have heard of them you will almost certainly have heard what they have written as it is the hold music used on Cisco telephone switchboards!

I have spent a lot of time this month making calls to prospective customers and therefore a long time on hold. The same tune kept being played again and again and so I Shazam’d it! I have decided that I marginally prefer this to the tune played by my insurance company on one extended hold session – ‘Patience’ by Take That. I’m assuming that it was ironic.

Another curious one is Hafdís Huld who was supporting Boo Hewerdine when we saw him last month.  I loved the story telling in her songs and Queen Bee is the best example of this with a great video too:

And finally the OK GO track is from their forthcoming release which you can support at Pledge Music.

That’s it for this month.

Those above marked (SoS) are from a subscription service called Society of Sound which is curated by Real World Records, Peter Gabriel and the LSO. This provides members with two downloads a month of which you get no choice. This means that some months you get something that you really love and other months not so.


All my music is held in a web-based music streamer called Subsonic, a roll-your-own Spotify if you like. This provides statistics on number of tracks and size of collection, as you can see below.

1,234 artists
2,674 albums
23,440 songs
235.81 GB
1,879 hours